Printer Friendly Version
Email this thread to a friend
|
Chinese E-mail Scam from Beijing ALG Network Infor (In: Google)
700+ billion $$$ bail out scam (In: Members Lounge)
Is keyword tags totally irrelvant (In: General Search Engine Optimization)
Featured Web Site Template |
|
Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
|
|
| Member |
Message |
venkatesh_rpatil
Joined: Aug 09, 2008
# Posts: 3
|
Posted: 2008-Aug-09 11:37
Hi all,
We have recieved a mail which looks like this.
Dear CEO,
We are SK Net Service Company Ltd, which is the domain name register center in china. I have something need to confirm with you.
A company named "HKDkm Holdings Limited" applies for the domain names
"our website name".com which is already registered by us.
"our website name".com.cn
"our website name".cn
"our website name".net.cn
"our website name".com.hk
"our website name".hk
"our website name".tw
"our website name".com.tw
"our website name".asia
and the internet brand name("our website name" on the internet. we need to know the opinion of the company, because the domain names and keywords may relate to the usufruct of brand name on internet.
We need to know the opinion of your company, because the domain names and internet keyword may relate to the usufruct of brand name on internet.we would like to get advice of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible!
Please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely!
Best Regards,
Rock. Tian
Sponsoring Registrar:
SK Net Service Company Ltd
website: www.sknetservice.hk
is it really a scam or really some firm trying register themselves in our name. Any suggestions or how to deal with this issue.
Help me out.
|
 |
freeflyer
Joined: Aug 06, 2007
# Posts: 211
|
Posted: 2008-Aug-12 09:48
it could be legit, as i cant find anything bad written on google about SKnet, but most of the entries are self generated, but it is a big company. The chinese are shot hot on this kind of stuff though so it may be correct.
However, i cant see any reason why you would want to register these domains. Do some research yourself and decide if owning these domains (which i'm assuming will be the outcome should you persue it) is beneficial to you. Ask a copyrighter in the UK... i dont think anyone on here will be an expert on it.
|
 |
venkatesh_rpatil
Joined: Aug 09, 2008
# Posts: 3
|
Posted: 2008-Aug-13 06:50
After googling lot, what I found about SK Net Service, is that, they just try to mislead the people by writing something like this:
Dear CEO,
We are a domain name registrar centre in HongKong.and in charge of the registeration in ASIA, We have something important need to confirm through your company.
We received a formal application from a company called "TingTingke Investment Company" applying to register
Domain names:
companyname.asia
companyname.cn
companyname.com.cn
companyname.hk
companyname.net.cn
companyname.tw
Internet brand keyword: "companyname"
In China and also in Asia On the July 7 2008 .
During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged "TingTingke Investment Company" has no trade mark, Intellectual property, nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged "TingTingke Investment Company" to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things.
First of all, whether this alleged "TingTingke Investment Company" is your business partner or distributor in ASIA.
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged "TingTingke Investment Company" will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept. in order to deal with this issue better, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Tracy Yu
SK Net Service Company Ltd
Tel: +852-3075 9838 Fax:+852-3177 1510
Email:Tracy@cnsknet.cn
Website: .www.sknetservice.hk or .www.netservice.hk
I found that it is a company involved in internet domain registration scam, they even register the domains for cents. So beware of these scamsters, just ignore the mails if u receive.
|
 |
freeflyer
Joined: Aug 06, 2007
# Posts: 211
|
Posted: 2008-Aug-13 10:34
yes to be honest it did sound like a scam, but the company seemed fairly big and scams like this generally come from smaller registrars.
Anyway, always google everything that doesnt seem quite right.. the answer is normally there if you can put the time in.
|
 |
Prowler
Staff
Joined: Aug 14, 2000
# Posts: 1788
|
Posted: 2008-Aug-13 13:39
"If it sounds like a scam, it is" rule applies here. When they launched the asia tld, many used to get tons of such emails. They even spoof the sender's email address to reflect as if the mails emanated from major companies or entities.
I have received a email purportedly coming from the Pope Himself leave alone other lesser mortals.
|
 |
You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
- You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
- You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
- This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.
If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please
check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions
contained within.
If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.
|
If you are still experiencing problem, please read the
Login Assistance
Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.
|
Switch to Advanced Editor and ...
Create a New Topic
or Reply to this Thread
|
|